The Southeast Region Association of the American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association grew out of the Southern Safety Conference and Exposition, an organized group of professionals promoting safety in fourteen southern states in the late 1930's.

ADTSEA was established in 1957. The ADTSEA constitution identified nine southern states and two territories, that make up the Southeast Region. These states are Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia with the territories of the Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico.

In the late 1960's, ADTSEA members who regularly attended the Southern Safety Conference established a Southeast Region Association. At the 1971 meeting in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, a draft copy of a constitution was discussed. Tom Love, of Gainesville, Florida was elected President. The constitution was adopted in Jacksonville, Florida in 1972 and became effective on September 1, 1972.

At the 1979 Southern Safety Conference in Nashville, Tennessee, the membership voted unanimously to sever all ties with the Southern Safety Conference and Exposition and to meet separately in Atlanta, Georgia for the 1980 Southeast Region Association of ADTSEA Conference.

Southeast Region Association... A condensed history

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, US Virgin Islands, & Puerto Rico

Year      President           Conference Location
1970-71 Tom Love, FL - Baton Rouge, LA
1971-72 Tom Love, FL - Jacksonville, FL
1972-73 Tom Love, FL - Atlanta, GA
1973-74 Tom Love, FL - Richmond, VA
1974-75 Tom Love, FL - Atlanta, GA
1975-76 Wyatt Tullos, MS - Birmingham, AL
1976-77 Charles McDaniel, NC - Atlanta, GA
1977-78 Reed Brown, FL - Atlanta, GA
1978-79 Bert Thompson, TN - Nashville, TN
1979-80 Frank Young, MS - Atlanta, GA
1980-81 E. Edward Browning - Atlanta, GA
1981-82 Edward Kapushy, FL - Atlanta, GA
1982-83 Karen H. Womack, MS - Atlanta, GA
1983-84 Joe Sabbadino, SC - Atlanta, GA
1984-85 Glenn Cantley, FL - Atlanta, GA
1985-86 Dale E. Roe, VA - Atlanta, GA
1986-87 Will K. Parnell, AL - Atlanta, GA
1987-88 Ross E. Tingle, Jr. - MS Atlanta, GA
1988-89 Wiley H. Elliot, Jr. - NC Atlanta, GA
1989-90 David U. Sahler, - MS  Atlanta, GA
1990-91 Thomas Walters, - FL Atlanta, GA
1991-92 Roy Turner, AL - Atlanta, GA
1992-93 George E. Tyson, Jr. - VA Knoxville, TN
1993-94 Fred Thomas, FL - Orlando, FL
1994-95 Robyn Hagler, AL - Atlanta, GA
1995-96 Maynard Bridges, NC - Atlanta, GA
1996-97 David Donaldson, TN  - Atlanta, GA
1997-98 Jane Preston, VA - Myrtle Beach, SC
1998-99 Richard Stryker, FL - Charlotte, NC
1999-00 James Brooks, MS - Atlanta, GA
2000-01 James Johnson - Myrtle Beach, SC
2001-02 Ray Sparks, NC - Myrtle Beach, SC
2002-03 Ed Jones, FL - Myrtle Beach, SC
2003-04 Carol Hardin, VA - Myrtle Beach, SC
2004-05 Kal Kelliher, GA  - Myrtle Beach, SC
2005-06 Karl Logan NC - Myrtle Beach, SC
2006-07 Joellen Suter, VA  Myrtle Beach, SC
2007-08 Deb Ogden, FL - Myrtle Beach, SC
2008-09 Charles Lee, NC - Myrtle Beach, SC
2009-10 Nada Icenogle, GA - Myrtle Beach, SC
2010-11 Neda Ovsak, FL - Myrtle Beach, SC
2011-12 Steve Phillips, SC - Myrtle Beach, SC
2012-13 Mickey Tripp, NC - Myrtle Beach, SC
2013-14 Rick DeVivi ,VA  - Myrtle Beach, SC
2014-15 Michael Keesee, FL- Myrtle Beach, SC

2015-16 Greg Mangan, TN - Myrtle Beach, SC

2016-17 Steve Phillips, SC - Myrtle Beach, SC

2017-18 Harold Fleming, NC - Myrtle Beach, SC

2018-19 Tom Marsh, TN - Myrtle Beach, SC

2019-20 Josh Turner, GA - Pigeon Forge, TN


Past Presidents

​​​Southeast Region of American Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association